Project Joe Gets Fit Report #1

Now that Project JGF has gotten off the ground, everyone should expect regular status reports.

First, I decided on a fitness regimen. Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, I will leave work on-time, run home and take Ethel out for a walk, and then hop into my car and head back to the gym for 15 minutes of cardio and 45 minutes of weights. This weight training is important because I would like to build up (more) strength for rugby.

On Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday, I will do 30 minutes of cardio with the help of “Maya”, a virtual-trainer in an Xbox exergame called “Yourself Fitness”. (Janice and Terry are both familiar with Maya, and I believe Janice used the phrase “I hate Maya”.) While it might not be the absolute best way to get my cardio, it has the benefit of being regimented, at-home, and potentially enticing Boyfriend to come on board the fitness train.

15 minutes on Friday, 30 minutes on Saturday, and 15 minutes this morning! I have to say that the 15 minute workout this morning seemed to make my morning more upbeat. I verily skipped to the bus stop on my way to work! Also, this morning, Maya decided that I needed to do a “Core Strength” routine, which involves sit-ups and what not. Ethel decided that it would be a great time to get involved and licked my face through most of the first 5 minutes!

Should Ethel come on board the fitness train, too? Peeps only, please.

Another thing I found out this weekend is that late-night snacks are a challenge. I got home late on Saturday night, pretty tired after being out all day, and was a little peckish. I decided to make myself a PBJ&C sandwich…which actually ended up being a triple-decker with loads of PB, slatherings of J, and a couple of slices of C. Did I know it was probably not the best idea? Yeah…I actually remember thinking that to myself. Did it stop me? Unfortunately not.

So, I will have to come up with easy and healthier alternatives for my late-night snacking cravings.

***PBJ&C = PB&J + Cheese

3 Responses to “Project Joe Gets Fit Report #1”


  1. 1 Boyfriend May 7, 2007 at 18:41 pm

    I am so proud of Boyfriend! Project JGF will be a success!

  2. 2 Tony May 8, 2007 at 21:48 pm

    That’s great to hear. Scott really is an inspiration. I have a weakness for late night visits to the Waffle House. Must. Stop. Even with falling off the wagon once in a while, I lost 15 pounds. It’s easy. Not. With all the exercise you’re doing, I wouldn’t worry about the snacking too much, although a PBJ&C is probably healthier than Waffle House fare. Anyway, good luck!

  3. 3 Boyfriend May 9, 2007 at 8:39 am

    Ooo waffles! I saw Maya in action last night. She’s a cruel and unsympathetic taskmaster! I thought Joe was gonna cry at one point! Great to see his commitment even after a long, hard day at work!


Leave a Reply

Change a Lightbulb, change the world!

It only takes 18 seconds to change a bulb. If every American home replaced just one light bulb with an energy-efficient bulb, together we could save enough energy to light more than 2.6 million homes for a year. Find out how you can save energy and cash by making the switch to energy-efficient light bulbs... and check out how many have already sold in your area.

CFL lightbulb

Coconut Trees

Coral Reefs

May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

