Project Joe Gets Fit

Okay, so it’s a long time coming. This posting announces my plan to lose weight, get fit, and become a better, healthier me. I’m putting this on my blog in the hopes that all of my friends and family will help support along the journey. I have been overweight my entire life, and I am committing myself to change that.

First of all, I have to proclaim Scott as my inspiration. He’s lost over 80 pounds in the last 8 months and is literally a new man!

So, first things first, I have to weigh in. I will be heading to the gym on campus just before lunch, stripping down, and getting my full weight. I fully expect to be around 320 pounds.

One thing I have to balance is that I play rugby, and a lot of my “power” comes from my size. If I shrink to near nothingness, I’ll have to either play a different position (which will involve re-learning the game), or bulk up on muscle mass to stay in the position I play now. I play Loose Head Prop right now, while a 20% smaller Joe might have to play Inside Center.

Nobody likes a skinny Prop. – My Rugby Coach

Another rugby consideration is that about a year from now, the Bingham Cup (Gay Rugby’s version of the Rugby World Cup), will be in Dublin. I would like to be in the best shape of my life and really enjoy playing the game (as opposed to now dreading the prospect of a full 80 minutes of rugby). I think that’s attainable!

One final consideration is Boyfriend. I am hoping that he will commit himself with me to come along this journey. I would love to see us get fit, together!

Scott used a “Phased” approach to losing weight, setting a near-term and a long-term goal, which I think will work really well for me. So, here are the Phases of Project Joe Gets Fit, as I see it now.

Phase One: Lose 10% (~30 pounds) of my body weight in 6 months.

Phase Two: Lose 10% of my original body weight (~30 pounds) in the following 9 months.

Phase Three: Quit Smoking. This will probably be the hardest thing I will ever do.

Phase Four: Maintain the healthy lifestyle.

That’s it for now. Everyone should expect weekly reports of my progress, even if it’s just a “I went to the gym twice this week and didn’t binge eat at all”. If not, can I count on you all for a “nudge”?

8 Responses to “Project Joe Gets Fit”


  1. 1 Scott May 4, 2007 at 10:36 am

    If a jackass like me can do it, I am sure a jackass like you can too. 😉

    Seriously, though, the toughest part is making the commitment to change. Once you have done that, the rest comes naturally (though, I’m not saying it’ll be easy).

  2. 2 roz May 4, 2007 at 10:39 am

    that sounds awesome! i fully support you!

  3. 3 guamaniac May 4, 2007 at 10:39 am

    Thank you Mr. Jackass! I am somewhat trepidatious, but I think it will be an awesome journey!

  4. 4 Becky May 4, 2007 at 10:39 am

    That’s awesome, Joe! You’re a focused and hard-working guy, so I have no doubt you’ll be successful in meeting your goals.

  5. 5 Dan May 4, 2007 at 10:45 am

    Not to completely echo everyone else, but that’s awesome! Let me know if there’s anything I can do to help support the process…. 🙂

  6. 6 guamaniac May 4, 2007 at 11:10 am

    Thank you, everyone. Your overwhelming support means a lot to me!

  7. 7 Elvis August 16, 2007 at 8:21 am

    So what happened? The blog is three months old, there are no updates – I hope that you got your ass in gear and DID this! 🙂 Oh and that rugby business smacks of an excuse. Hard as it seems to believe you’ll be in your 30’s and 40’s before you know it and rugby isn’t going to be important at all but your health will be. And besides wouldn’t you rather work toward being a ripped bad-ass?!


  1. 1 Scott Gets Fit » Blog Archive » Treadmill man Trackback on May 9, 2007 at 0:08 am

Leave a Reply

Change a Lightbulb, change the world!

It only takes 18 seconds to change a bulb. If every American home replaced just one light bulb with an energy-efficient bulb, together we could save enough energy to light more than 2.6 million homes for a year. Find out how you can save energy and cash by making the switch to energy-efficient light bulbs... and check out how many have already sold in your area.

CFL lightbulb

Coconut Trees

Coral Reefs

May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

