Comcast sucks slightly less…

So, if you remember, on Saturday, we had a minor meltdown trying to get reception for the Eagles playoff game on the living room Comcast DVR/Cable box. Part of my list of things to do the following day was to get a replacement DVR box. I browsed to Comcast’s website and did a quick search for a place to ‘replace converters and other equipment’. I already knew there was one in South Philly on Columbus Boulevard, but I was mostly after their hours.

They opened at Noon on Sunday and were closed on the MLK holiday, so I made sure to set the alarm for 10:30am so I could get to the Comcast office bright ‘n’ early.

I got there at exactly 12:05pm … and there were thirty people ahead of me! Jeez Christ! The Comcast-Suck-o-meter was ratcheting up to the red line! Yet more inconvenience I can lay at their feet!

I grumphled to the back of the line … queued up like a good little boy. I glanced around and took stock of what people were there for; a good 75% of them had cable bills in hand, ostensibly stopping by the office in person to pay their bills. A good sign, since bill-paying is relatively quick and easy. Several had non-hi-def cable boxes in hand, which hopefully a) they wouldn’t rub any of their “analog signal”on me and b) they were replacing immediately posthaste forthwith absolumon with shiny HD-capable cable boxes.

Before I knew it, about 30 minutes had elapsed and I was at the front of the line! There was only one cashier/CSR/waitron there, but she was no-nonsense-lickety-splickety-rabbit-quick with getting each person’s questions answered, and I was no exception.

I’m here to exchange my old DVR for a brand new one.

Is there something wrong with the old one?

No.

Okay here’s the new one. Do you need a remote?

She handed me a shrink-wrapped DVR that I could just tell was brand-badunkin’ new! I peered through the plastic and spied two things that made me quiver with delight: HDMI, and 160GB.

My old DVR had a “lousy” DVI output for HiDef video feeding to my TV. My new DVR has the top-of-the-line, all-digital, holy-grail of A/V interfaces. My old DVR had a practically “anemic” 120GB Hard Drive. My new DVR has a 33% larger drive for recording even more HD episodes of Gilmore Girls! I can’t believe it! They just gave it to me because I drove up and asked!

I was in geek heaven.

2 Responses to “Comcast sucks slightly less…”


  1. 1 Boyfriend January 18, 2007 at 16:05 pm

    But it gets better! We get she shiny new box home, peel off the shrink wrap, wallowing in the perfume of new electronics smell, and promptly hook the jawn up. After all of the lovely wires are in place, 234 (FoxHD) doesn’t come in! We end up rechecking each wire, eventually settling for bypassing the surge protector for a direct link which helped. As the surfing begins, a whole bunch of other quasi-premium channels are “not available” and I’m about to lose my mind! Joe calls the next day (I guess because he already used his Comcast Mojo that day) and gets a friendly, “I’ll just send a signal to your box” and voila!

    Why is something so simple so complicated?

    Comcast Sucks.

  2. 2 dreambox 800 April 5, 2013 at 14:20 pm

    Hmm is anyone else having problems with the images on this blog loading?

    I’m trying to figure out if its a problem on my end or if it’s
    the blog. Any responses would be greatly appreciated.


Leave a Reply

Change a Lightbulb, change the world!

It only takes 18 seconds to change a bulb. If every American home replaced just one light bulb with an energy-efficient bulb, together we could save enough energy to light more than 2.6 million homes for a year. Find out how you can save energy and cash by making the switch to energy-efficient light bulbs... and check out how many have already sold in your area.

CFL lightbulb

Coconut Trees

Coral Reefs

January 2007
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

