Merry Christmas, Ga’chong-hu! ***

I called my family to wish them a Merry Christmas: John in San Fran with his family, my Auntie Tina & Uncle Chuck in Buck’s County, with my cousins and their families (Chuck, Brian, Barb, & Cathy), my brother James in San Fran, and my Mom & Dad & Sister, Teo, on Guam.

It was funny … everyone I talked to immediately went into what they were having for dinner.  Turkey seemed to be a common theme.  Pumpkin pies and apple pies.  But staples like Red Rice, Chicken Kelaguen, Beef Kelaguen (see Chicken Kelaguen, only with nearly raw beef … not for the faint of heart), Barbecued spare ribs, and ham.

We’ll be having ham, deviled eggs, twice baked potatoes, and all the Ethel-drool you can stomach, here in Michigan. 

I love the holidays, and I love that I’m spending it with Boyfriend’s sister and her family.  I think next year, though, we’re going to have to Guam-it-up and get some of the Guamish dishes at the dinner table.  Guamaniac is a good cook after all, yo!

I hope everyone is having a wonderful time with their families, and filling up on tremendous amounts of delicious food!  See you in the New Year, if not sooner!

*** Ga’chong-hu is Chamorro for “my friend(s)”.  Chamorro is the name of the native language and the native people of Guam.

Leave a Reply

Change a Lightbulb, change the world!

It only takes 18 seconds to change a bulb. If every American home replaced just one light bulb with an energy-efficient bulb, together we could save enough energy to light more than 2.6 million homes for a year. Find out how you can save energy and cash by making the switch to energy-efficient light bulbs... and check out how many have already sold in your area.

CFL lightbulb

Coconut Trees

100_2058

100_2057

100_2056

100_2055

100_2054

100_2053

100_2052

More Photos

Coral Reefs

December 2006
M T W T F S S
    Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

