Dreamweaver/Contribute crashes when you have IE 7 installed

We have a Windows Terminal Server for our telecommuting developers.  Of course, installed are the typical web development and design suites from Macromedia/Adobe.

We recently upgraded the server to a VMWare Virtual Machine with all the fixin’s but one of our remote users noticed that Dreamweaver kept crashing whenever she browsed to the online help system.

I’m more than a little invested in seeing our VMWare initiatives take off, so I took it upon myself to make sure it wasn’t a VM issue (seeing as that was the most recent and dramatic change to the installation).

I uninstalled, re-installed, deleted, and undeleted everything that had to do with Dreamweaver.  I logged in as myself and as a local administrator.  I trolled user forums and even pinged a colleague to see if he had any ideas (Hi, Tam!!!).

Nothing.

Then I did something I don’t think I’ve ever done; I posted a question on a user support forum, specifically one of Adobe’s official Dreamweaver forums.

In less than a day, some wise support professional from the Adobe team responded with the answer:  IE7 broke Dreamweaver!  Definitely not part of the “Joe Cruz Winning Formula”.

IE7 installs an updated psapi.dll that is in conflict with the online help viewer installed by Dreamweaver (and Contribute 3.11, it turns out).

Adobe has a nice, concise KB article that explains exactly what to do to fix it.  Many thanks to David Alcala from Adobe Product Support, for pointing me in the right direction!

Dreamweaver crashes when accessing help system when Internet Explorer 7 is installed (opens in new window)

Can’t start Contribute after you install Internet Explorer 7 Beta (opens in new window)

3 Responses to “Dreamweaver/Contribute crashes when you have IE 7 installed”


  1. 1 W. Goodwin April 23, 2007 at 17:55 pm

    I think you have helped me solve a problem with contribute 3 that had been very frustrating. Thanks!

  2. 2 Del July 10, 2013 at 23:07 pm

    Hi, yeah this piece of writing is truly pleasant and I have learned lot of things from it on the topic of blogging.
    thanks.

  3. 3 pokemon April 28, 2014 at 19:27 pm

    First of all I want to say excellent blog! I had a quick
    question that I’d like to ask if you don’t mind. I was curious to
    find out how you center yourself and clear your mind before writing.
    I’ve had a tough time clearing my thoughts in getting my ideas out there.
    I truly do take pleasure in writing however it just seems like
    the first 10 to 15 minutes are usually lost simply just trying
    to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or hints?
    Kudos!


Leave a Reply

Change a Lightbulb, change the world!

It only takes 18 seconds to change a bulb. If every American home replaced just one light bulb with an energy-efficient bulb, together we could save enough energy to light more than 2.6 million homes for a year. Find out how you can save energy and cash by making the switch to energy-efficient light bulbs... and check out how many have already sold in your area.

CFL lightbulb

Coconut Trees

100_2058

100_2057

100_2056

100_2055

100_2054

100_2053

100_2052

More Photos

Coral Reefs

December 2006
M T W T F S S
    Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

