Please be a C++ GUI Programming Guide!

I lost my virginity today…my iPod virginity you dirty birds!

Scott had two iPods…a 5.5Gen and a 2Gen Shuffle. He wasn’t using the Shuffle, and I had recently made it known that I was in the market for a Shuffle, and voila! A half-a-Benj later, pure Kismet. The exchange was made!

My first, ever, iPod!

Sadly, my iPod is not a virgin; I had to settle for sloppy seconds. Scott? What did you do to this cute little box-o’-music? What did it ever do to you? Don’t be surprised if you get a phone call from the Philadelphia Department of iPods and Families, the municipal agency responsible for investigating reports of iPod abuse. Myleen Andres***, Agency Coordinator, has got your number.

My first impression was that it’s a whole lot smaller than I thought it would be. I mean, I’ve seen the new “Put on some Music” ads for the 2G Shuffle (in glorious Hi-Def, I might add…kudos to Apple for releasing Hi-Def commercials!), but I guess I didn’t get the full sense of its proportions. Step 1 is to install iTunes, and subscribe to all of those NPR podcasts that I love to listen to!

Actually, Step 1 is to purchase some headphones; the package didn’t include them (she’s used, after all). I’ve got my eye on some nifty Bose, in-ear jawns that I hope to audition and purchase soon.

***Myleen Andres is a fictional name, and not affiliated with any municipal agency that I am aware of. If you get a phone call from her or the Philadelphia DiF, it is a gremlin.

[UPDATE: iTunes + iPod Shuffle doesn’t work in Windows Vista.  Luckily, I have access to a plethora of non-Vista machines, and was able to get transfer some podcast from one of them.  Mucho thanko to Scott-o for helping me get it up and running!]

2 Responses to “Please be a C++ GUI Programming Guide!”


  1. 1 Janice December 18, 2006 at 20:30 pm

    I got Terry Sennheiser CX300-B Earbuds for his birthday and he really likes them. They were really well reviewed everywhere I looked and he really likes them. Much cheaper than Bose or Shure, too.

  2. 2 Boyfriend December 19, 2006 at 10:11 am

    A C++ GUI Programming Guide? I’ve been eyeing that for a while!!


Leave a Reply

Change a Lightbulb, change the world!

It only takes 18 seconds to change a bulb. If every American home replaced just one light bulb with an energy-efficient bulb, together we could save enough energy to light more than 2.6 million homes for a year. Find out how you can save energy and cash by making the switch to energy-efficient light bulbs... and check out how many have already sold in your area.

CFL lightbulb

Coconut Trees

Coral Reefs

December 2006
M T W T F S S
    Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

