World of Warcraft…you are out. Auf Wiedersehn.

Double-cheek kiss!  Left.  <mwah>.  Then right.  <mwah>.  You may leave the runway.

I downloaded World of Warcraft just to see if it would run on Vista Enterprise (<wink>) but also because I was interested in how they accomplished the whole client download issue.

Turns out they use a “torrent” of some kind, where other ‘Craft-zombies share some of their bandwidth so that other, unsuspecting, netizens become infected with the Blizzarius Virus.  I wandered around the starter Undead Race-region, killing off “Rabid Polygonal Fantasy Bats Level 3” and “Floating Undead Zombie Beast Skeleton Lich Minion Slaves Level 2”, and gaining a few levels.

I quickly remembered why I stopped playing in the first place.  It’s an addiction; point-click-repeat-click-point-heal-click-chat-heal-click-sellItem-repeat.  I already have one vice (well, maybe three), thank you very much, and I spend more than enough time with my hand-cum-wireless-prosthetic-mouse-pointer.

My doctor inocculated me against that infamous Blizzarius Virus, and now I’m free to gallivant across the real world. Not that there’s anything wrong with the Warcraft “world”…it’s just not for me anymore.

And I wish more software companies would use torrents to speed up the download process of some of their bigger packages…<cough>Xbox Live Video Marketplace</cough>

1 Response to “World of Warcraft…you are out. Auf Wiedersehn.”



  1. 1 Geeks of War « White beaches and the world’s biggest K-Mart. Trackback on December 19, 2006 at 0:27 am

Leave a Reply

Change a Lightbulb, change the world!

It only takes 18 seconds to change a bulb. If every American home replaced just one light bulb with an energy-efficient bulb, together we could save enough energy to light more than 2.6 million homes for a year. Find out how you can save energy and cash by making the switch to energy-efficient light bulbs... and check out how many have already sold in your area.

CFL lightbulb

Coconut Trees

Coral Reefs

December 2006
M T W T F S S
    Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

